USC quarterback Caleb Williams wins Walter Camp, Maxwell awards

Williams, who’s the primary USC participant since working again Marcus Allen in 1981 to win the Maxwell, accounted for 47 touchdowns whereas throwing for 4,075 yards and main USC to an 11-2 season a 12 months after the Trojans went 4-8.

Whereas Williams gained each the Maxwell and Walter Camp awards, fellow Heisman Trophy finalist Max Duggan obtained the Davey O’Brien Nationwide Quarterback of the Yr award. Duggan threw for 3,725 yards and accounted for 36 touchdowns for TCU this season.

The Horned Frogs took house a number of awards on the night time. Security Tre’Vius Hodges-Tomlinson obtained the Jim Thorpe award, given to the highest defensive again within the sport. Sonny Dykes, having led TCU to an undefeated common season and a Faculty Soccer Playoff look in his first 12 months, was named the Residence Depot Coach of the Yr and gained the Walter Camp Nationwide Coach of the Yr Award.

Additionally in his first season on the job, TCU offensive coordinator Garrett Riley obtained the Broyles Award for assistant coach of the 12 months. Riley, the brother of USC coach Lincoln Riley, was the coach behind the Horned Frogs’ explosive 12 months on offense led by Duggan.

For the second 12 months in a row, Alabama’s Will Anderson Jr. gained the Nagurski award. He additionally gained the Chuck Bednarik Award on Thursday. Each are given to the most effective defensive participant.

The Outland Trophy for the nation’s finest inside lineman was gained by Michigan middle Olusegun Oluwatimi, the primary Wolverine to seize it. Oluwatimi additionally gained the Rimington Trophy, given to the game’s finest middle.

Georgia’s Brock Bowers grew to become the primary Bulldog to win the John Mackey Award for finest tight finish. Bowers averaged 14 yards a catch this season and added six touchdowns.

Tennessee’s Jalin Hyatt obtained the Biletnikoff Award, given to the most effective extensive receiver — the primary time a Vols participant has gained the honour. Hyatt, who had 1,267 receiving yards, 15 touchdowns and 6 catches of 55 yards or extra this season, beat out Ohio State’s Marvin Harrison Jr.

Although he didn’t crack the Heisman finalists checklist, Texas’ Bijan Robinson did win the Doak Walker Award for the most effective working again in faculty soccer. Robinson averaged over six yards per carry and over 130 speeding yards per sport, totaling 18 touchdowns.

Florida State lineman Dillan Gibbons was awarded the Wuerffel Trophy, given to the faculty soccer participant who combines group service with educational and athletic achievement.

Iowa’s Jack Campbell took house the Dick Butkus Award as the highest linebacker. Campbell led the Hawkeyes’ protection and completed his season with 115 complete tackles — good for thirteenth within the nation. Over the weekend, Campbell additionally gained the Nationwide Soccer Basis’s William V. Campbell Trophy, which honors a university soccer participant who exhibited a mixture of “educational success, soccer efficiency and exemplary management.”

Georgia’s Stetson Bennett gained the Burlsworth Trophy, given to the game’s most excellent participant who started his profession as a walk-on. Bennett, who led Georgia to a nationwide title final season and can have an opportunity to repeat this season, can also be one of many Heisman finalists for 2022.

Rutgers’s Adam Korsak gained the Ray Man Award for the most effective punter after he had probably the most punts downed contained in the 20 (22) of any punter within the nation. NC State’s Christopher Dunn gained the Lou Groza Award for finest place-kicker.