Nepal elections | Sher Bahadur Deuba’s ruling coalition maintains lead

Sher Bahadur Deuba. File

Sher Bahadur Deuba. File
| Picture Credit score: AP

Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba’s Nepali Congress-led ruling coalition, on November 26, maintained its lead in Nepal’s Parliamentary elections, profitable 77 seats out of the 148 declared.

Within the 275-member Home of Representatives, 165 seats will likely be elected by direct voting, whereas the remaining 110 will likely be elected by a proportional electoral system.

A celebration or a coalition wants 138 seats to win a transparent majority within the Home. The Nepali Congress (NC) has received 48 seats alone beneath the direct voting system.

Its allies — CPN-Maoist Centre and CPN-Unified Socialist have received 16 and 10 seats. The Lokatantrik Samajwadi and Rastriya Janamorcha have bagged two and one seats respectively. All of them are a part of the ruling alliance.

Nepal ought to develop pleasant relations with India and China for prosperity: Prakash Man Singh

The Opposition alliance led by former premier Okay. P. Sharma Oli-led CPN-UML has bagged 46 seats. The CPN-UML has received 38 seats. The CPN-UML companions — the Rastriya Prajatantra Celebration and Janata Samajwadi Celebration — have received 5 and three seats respectively. The newly-formed Rastriya Swatantra Celebration has received seven seats.

Nagarik Unmukti Celebration, Nepal Employees and Peasants Celebration and Janamat Celebration have obtained three, one and one seats respectively. Unbiased and others have obtained 13 seats.

Elections to the Home of Representatives (HoR) and 7 provincial assemblies have been held on Sunday. The counting of votes began on Monday.