Horner reappointed ag minister for Alberta in Danielle Smith’s cupboard – Agriculture

Nate Horner will stay Alberta’s agriculture minister following the disclosing of latest Premier Danielle Smith’s cupboard.

Horner, the UCP MLA for Drumheller-Stettler, was first appointed minister of agriculture and forestry by former Premier Jason Kenney in November 2021.

Under Smith, Horner’s title now not consists of forestry and rural financial growth, however irrigation has been tacked on to the agriculture portfolio.

“I sit up for constructing on our authorities’s historic funding of practically $1 billion in irrigation infrastructure and supporting an ag sector that’s driving financial progress and job creation,” tweeted Horner.

Another one in every of Horner’s high priorities will possible be the completion and implementation of the settlement underlying the brand new five-year federal-provincial-territorial (FPT) ag coverage framework that’s presupposed to take impact in April 2023, with the present settlement set to run out in March. He has been concerned in negotiating the brand new FPT deal, together with on the FPT ag ministers’ annual assembly in Saskatchewan this previous July.

Glenn van Dijken will work with Horner because the parliamentary secretary for agri-food growth.

Smith has additionally appointed her predominant management contest rivals to high-profile posts. Former Canadian Cattle Association president and rancher Travis Toews (who Horner endorsed within the management race) will stay president of the Treasury Board and finance minister. Brian Jean has been appointed minister of jobs, financial system and northern growth.

Smith’s cupboard might be sworn in on Monday, Oct. 24, and can then start receiving briefings from their departments.

Here’s the entire listing of cupboard appointments beneath the brand new Alberta premier:

  • Deputy Premier and Minister of Skilled Trades and Professions – Kaycee Madu
  • Deputy Premier and Minister of Infrastructure – Nathan Neudorf
  • President of Treasury Board and Minister of Finance – Travis Toews
  • Minister of Jobs, Economy and Northern Development – Brian Jean
  • Minister of Justice – Tyler Shandro
  • Minister of Health – Jason Copping
  • Minister of Energy – Pete Guthrie
  • Minister of Environment and Protected Areas – Sonya Savage
  • Minister of Technology and Innovation – Nate Glubish
  • Minister of Affordability and Utilities – Matt Jones
  • Minister of Municipal Affairs – Rebecca Schulz
  • Minister of Transportation and Economic Corridors – Devin Dreeshen
  • Minister of Public Safety – Mike Ellis
  • Minister of Agriculture and Irrigation – Nate Horner
  • Minister of Forestry, Parks and Tourism – Todd Loewen
  • Minister of Trade, Immigration and Multiculturalism – Rajan Sawhney
  • Minister of Education – Adriana LaGrange
  • Minister of Advanced Education – Demetrios Nicolaides
  • Minister of Service Alberta and Red Tape Reduction – Dale Nally
  • Minister of Indigenous Relations – Rick Wilson
  • Minister of Seniors, Community and Social Services – Jeremy Nixon
  • Minister of Children’s Services – Mickey Amery
  • Minister of Mental Health and Addictions – Nicholas Milliken
  • Minister of Culture – Jason Luan