2022 Silver Gavels go to book by Anita Hill, documentary about trailblazer Pauli Murray

Law in Popular Culture

2022 Silver Gavels go to book by Anita Hill, documentary about trailblazer Pauli Murray

Silver Gavel

Image from Shutterstock.

Looking on your subsequent learn, TV present or podcast? Start with one of many eight winners of the ABA’s 2022 Silver Gavel Awards for Media and the Arts.

The ABA on Wednesday introduced the Silver Gavel Awards, which acknowledge outstanding work that fosters the general public’s understanding of regulation and the authorized system. This 12 months, the 18-member Standing Committee on Gavel Awards additionally chosen 4 honorable mentions from the 29 finalists introduced in March.

“The American Bar Association conducts an intensive evaluation of the entrants and undertakes a deliberative course of to choose Silver Gavel winners and Honorable Mentions,” Sharon Stern Gerstman, chair of the Standing Committee on Gavel Awards, mentioned in a press launch. “We congratulate the entire 2022 awardees for his or her dedication and wonderful work towards advancing the American public’s understanding of the regulation and the justice system.”

The Silver Gavel Awards have been offered every year since 1958. Eligible classes embody books, commentaries, documentaries, drama and literature, magazines, multimedia, newspapers, radio and tv, however not each class receives an award yearly.

Gender violence, civil rights, authorized historical past, chilly instances, discrimination, civics and the pursuit of justice are among the many subjects highlighted by the 2022 awardees, in accordance to the press launch.

ABA President Reginald Turner will current the Silver Gavels and honorable mentions on July 12 on the National Press Club in Washington, D.C. Alan C. Miller, a Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist and founder and CEO of the News Literacy Project, will give the keynote speech. The ceremony can even be livestreamed.

Here is the entire record of winners:


Silver Gavel: Believing—Our Thirty-Year Journey to End Gender Violence by Anita Hill; Viking Books


Silver Gavel:Punitive Excess”: Brennan Center for Justice; Lauren-Brooke Eisen, director, justice program; Daniel Okrent, senior fellow


Silver Gavel: My Name is Pauli Murray: Amazon; Betty West and Julie Cohen, administrators; Talleah Bridges McMahon, producer; Claudia Raschke, DP; Cinque Northern, editor


Silver Gavel:Black Legal History in Oklahoma: May 2021 Oklahoma Bar Journal”: Oklahoma Bar Association/Oklahoma Bar Journal; John Morris Williams, government director/editor in chief; Lori Rasmussen, communications director; Melissa DeLacerda, chairperson; Lauren Rimmer, communications specialist; Carol Manning, communications director

Honorable Mention:Legal Roadblocks to Police Accountability”: Gateway Journalism Review/Pulitzer Center; William Freivogel, writer/grantee; Kallie Cox and Orli Sheffey, reporters; Steve Edwards, illustrator; Abbey La Tour, design chief/photographer; Jackie Spinner, editor


Silver Gavel:Un(re)solved”: Frontline; Tamara Shogaolu, inventive director


Silver Gavel:The Real Damage”: The Washington Post; Hannah Dreier, nationwide enterprise reporter; Andrew Ba Tran, investigative information reporter

Honorable Mention:Unsettled—Cashing in on Accident Victims”: Star Tribune; Jeffrey Meitrodt, investigative reporter; Nicole Norfleet and Adam Belz, reporters; Jeff Wheeler, photojournalist; C.J. Sinner, director of graphics & information visuals; Thomas Oide, digital designer


Silver Gavel:Civics 101: Supreme Court Series”: Civics 101; Nick Capodice, host; Hannah McCarthy, host/producer; Jacqui Fulton, producer; Erika Janik, government producer

Honorable Mention:On Our Watch”: National Public Radio/KQED; Liana Simstrom, supervising producer/undertaking supervisor; Sukey Lewis, host/reporter; Sandhya Dirks, producer/reporter; Nicole Beemsterboer, Alex Emslie and Leila Day, editors; Huo Jingnan, information editor; Adelina Lancianese, producer; Nina Sparling and Cynthia Betubiza, assistant producers


Silver Gavel:A Promise to Ahmaud”: 48 Hours; Omar Villafranca, correspondent

Honorable Mention:60 Minutes: Attack on the Judiciary”; CBS News 60 Minutes; Bill Owens, government producer; Tanya Simon, government editor; Bill Whitaker, correspondent; Heather Abbott, producer; LaCrai Mitchell, affiliate producer; Craig Crawford, editor

See additionally:

ABAJournal.com: “2021 Silver Gavel Awards honor works on courtroom secrecy, racial justice, ladies’s rights”

ABAJournal.com: “Silver Gavel Awards honor works on jailing pregnant ladies, judicial indiscretion”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Friday MEGA MILLIONS® jackpot is $660 million